E Point Perfect

Times of San Diego Claims Best News Site for Sixth Time at SD Press Club Awards


Three-year-old Dakota embraces her father Sgt. Major Charles Latour. Photo by Chris Stone
First-place photo for still photography, news, showed Dakota. 3, embracing her father, Marine Sgt. Major Charles Latour. Photo by Chris Stone

Times of San Diego won 23 awards — including best local news site for the sixth time — in the San Diego Press Club Excellence in Journalism Awards on Tuesday in Balboa Park. Ten entries took first place.

Ken and Chris Stone display ribbons representing their 19 combined awards at the San Diego Press Club event. Photo by Pauline Repard

Contributing photographer Chris Stone and Contributing editor Ken Stone, a married pair from La Mesa, collected 10 and nine of those awards, respectively, for reporting, photography and video. They collaborated on two projects.

Chris Stone swept all three places in still news photography.

Chris Jennewein of Del Mar, editor and publisher of the 8-year-old site, won individual first-place plaques for his election coverage and commentary. JW August took first for a multicultural story.

“It’s an honor for an independent news site to be recognized as the best in San Diego for the sixth time,” said Jennewein. “Thanks to Ken, Chris, JW and everyone on our team, Times of San Diego continues to attract new readers and receive professional recognition.”

Hundreds gathered in the courtyard of the international houses for the club’s 49th annual event, the first in-person awards gathering since 2019, sampling food and drink from 20 local restaurants and a slew of cottage homes representing nations from Israel to Germany.

Nicole Vargas, a journalism professor at San Diego City College, became the latest president of the 51-year-old club that includes print, online and broadcast journalists as well as public relations professionals and college students.

Special awards went to three men, honoring their careers in news, public relations and media management.

They were CBS8 reporter Steve Fiorina (Harold Keen Award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism), binational PR executive Jorge D’Garay (Andy Mace Award for Outstanding Contribution to Public Relations) and retired KGTV Chief Assignment Editor Brad McLellan (Jim Reiman Award for Outstanding Media Management).

The San Diego Union-Tribune staff and contributors won 55 awards, including 18 for first place in categories ranging from humor and real estate to podcast and service program.

Times of San Diego First-Place Awards

Second-Place Awards

Third-Place Awards

Seven members of Francy Carbajal’s family gather on the Mexican side to wave to her. Photo by Chris Stone

Honorable Mention Awards

Times of San Diego began its ninth year of publication last spring with an average monthly readership of over 500,000. The independent local news website launched on March 14, 2014.

Complete list of award winners, including collegiate honorees, is here.


Source link

Related posts

‘Act of Defiance Gone Wrong’: Opening Statements Begin in Trial for Sailor Accused of Ship Arson

Opinion: There’s a Small Chance California Could Help Democrats Keep House Majority

Judge Hears Evidence Against Chula Vista Man Accused of Killing Missing Wife Maya Millete

Deputies Arrest Suspect After Woman Attacked While Walking Dog in Leucadia

Tesla Stock at 2-Year Low After Musk Sells $4 Billion to Finalize Twitter Purchase

Suspect at Large in San Diego Stabbing; Victim Escapes, Flags Down Police