Bickerton Law Blog | An in-depth look at law news with legal analysis by Bickerton Law. New articles every Monday and Thursday.
With Back to School season in full swing, it’s important to be aware of the laws that are specific to school buses and active school zones.
Under Pennsylvania law, all drivers are required to stop for a school bus that has its stop arm down and stop lights activated.
What’s the punishment for failing to stop for a school bus?
If the driver doesn’t stop, they can get a ticket that’s punishable by a $250 fine and a 60-day license suspension. Five points will also go on the driver’s license.
Which direction are drivers required to stop?
If a school bus is at an active stop, traffic in all directions must stop.
When a school zone is active, the punishment for speeding is enhanced.
What is the punishment for speeding in a school zone in Pennsylvania?
If you go over the speed limit in a school zone in Pennsylvania, you will face a fine and points on your license. The fines and points are higher than the consequences for speeding outside of a school zone.
- The fine for speeding in a school zone in Pennsylvania if they are speeding by less than 11 MPH over the school zone limit is $35 plus $2 for every mile they are over 5 MPH.
- If the person is going over the school zone limit by 11 MPH or more, they will face a $500 fine.
- Three points will go on the driver’s license.
The post Back to School Law: Stopping for School Buses and Slowing in School Zones first appeared on Bickerton Law.